Jeremy Duns

Jeremy Duns is English, like me, lives in Scandinavia, like me. But unlike me, he lives in Sweden. He specialises in spy stories, fiction and non-fiction. He’s very active and very interesting, on Twitter.

The information given on the back of the paperbacks from Song of Treason onwards, give a little too much away, if you haven’t read the previous book, so I’ve replaced the give-away text with ‘…’

The cover on the extreme right each time, is the version I have (or will have) and will have a link to buy the latest version.

Fiction

Free Agent HBFree AgentFree Agent US PBFree AgentFree Agent
From left to right (I think), hardback (US), hardback (UK & Canada), paperback (US), paperback (UK)

March 1969. John and Yoko are in bed. Harold Wilson is in Number 10. And Paul Dark is on the run.
British agent Paul Dark has had a stella career – until now. A Soviet defector has credible information that there is a double agent within MI6, and Dark finds himself in the frame. Arrest could only be moments away. Worse, he has discovered that everything he has believed in for the last twenty-four years – the very purpose that drives him – has been built on a lie.
Now he wants answers, no matter what he has to do to get them.
Free Agent is an intense and twisting spy thriller set during the height of the Cold War – and it keeps the surprises coming until the final page.
My review   Amazon   Book Depository

Free Country 2Free CountrySong of TreasonSong of Treason
From left to right (I think) hardback (UK, Canada), paperback (rest of world), paperback (UK)
This seems to also have been published as Free Country, in the UK and Canada.

It is May 1969, and MI6 … agent Paul Dark stands alongside mourners at the funeral of Sir Colin Templeton; the former head of the organisation, the man he knew simply as ‘Chief’ …
Dark has got away with it, evading the attentions of both his fellow British spies and the KGB … But that precarious security is about to be shattered, launching Dark, sent to Italy, back into the heart of an international conspiracy and making him a target for both … and assassination.
The race is on to stop a deadly plot that dates back to the early years of the Cold War…
Set between London and Istanbul, Song of Treason is another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth.
My review   Amazon   Book Depository

The Moscow OptionThe Moscow Option
Poor old Moscow Option, only seems to have come out with this cover design *sob*

October, 1969. Moscow. Paul Dark is a broken man. A terrible mistake twenty-four years ago led to him being … but he has paid a heavy price for it. Now locked up in a cell, distrusted even by those he once served, Dark has nothing for company but the ghosts of his past when he is woken in the early hours and taken to a secret location. There, he discovers that the Soviets believe they are about to face a nuclear attack by the West — and are planning to strike first as a result. Dark realizes at once that the truth of the matter involves the final days of the Second World War, and the final mission he undertook as a loyal British agent. Now the fate of the entire world rests on the shoulders of one man: a traitor long past his best, who is soon the subject of a massive man-hunt in one of the most repressive regimes in history. Dark needs to make it to a small island in the Baltic before it’s too late — and the clock is ticking.
Amazon   Book Depository

The Dark ChroniclesThe Dark Chronicles. A Spy Trilogy
The three books above (Free Agent, Song of Treason and The Moscow Option, have also been published as an omnibus edition, called The Dark Chronicles. As the main character is Paul Dark, and all.

Interestingly, the Amazon page for this omnibus edition, gives the blurb for The Moscow Option, so you’re somewhat burgered if you haven’t read the first two, then. Maybe they couldn’t be bothered thinking of something new. The Book Depository has a distillation, of sorts, of all three, but also gives way too much away. So, I’d close my eyes, if I were you and I were going to order this bumper version. Or stick my fingers in my ears and go “la-la-la-la-la!” Oh, wait, that wouldn’t work…
Amazon   Book Depository

Non Fiction

Dead Drop HBDead Drop: The True Story of Oleg Penkovsky and the Cold War’s Most Dangerous Operation

In August 1960, a Soviet colonel called Oleg Penkovsky tried to make contact with the West. His first attempt was to approach two American students in Moscow. He handed them a bulky envelope and pleaded with them to deliver it to the American embassy. Inside was an offer to work as a ‘soldier-warrior’ for the free world. MI6 and the CIA ran Penkovsky jointly, in an operation that ran through the showdown over Berlin and the Cuban Missile Crisis. He provided crucial intelligence, including photographs of rocket manuals that helped Kennedy end the Cuba crisis and avert a war. Codenamed HERO, Penkovsky is widely seen as the most important spy of the Cold War, and the CIA-MI6 operation, run as the world stood on the brink of nuclear destruction, has never been bettered. But how exactly did the Russians detect Penkovsky, and why did they let him continue his contact with his handlers for months afterwards? Could it be that the whole Cuban Missile Crisis was part of a Soviet deception operation – and has another betrayal hidden in plain sight all these years? Thrilling, evocative and hugely controversial, Dead Drop blows apart the myths surrounding one of the Cold War’s greatest spy operations.
Amazon   Book Depository

Jeremy Duns
Facebook
Twitter
Web

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s